[solved] Boxart not showing up, any advise? [solved]
  • Hey there,

So as i am a total Linux Newbie my Problem might be a super obvious Mistake i made... buuut i simply dont see it if so.

So im having trouble getting the Boxart(s) to show up when selecting (hovering over) a Rom.

- My Box Art images are in the folder shown in the Database Entries when browsing them on the Web based UI. (had to create that Folder and used the GUI via startx for it)

- The images are named as closely as possible to the corresponding Rom names. (changed them around a lot for testing purpose, even the exact same name didnt do the trick)

- The images have been tried with different sizes as PNG or JPEG
    (from Really Big to really smal)

- i deleted the Database Entries several Times and re-ran the scraper afterwards.
    (i am aware that i should scrapĆ¼e once the images are in place)

- since i read that different Themes may offer different container sizes i tried all available themes.

Additional infos:

I only have and therefore tried SNES Roms.

System: Raspberry Pi 2 running .8beta9 PiPlay
    Hooked up to a 1080P Display HDMI to HDMI, disabled Overscan via raspi-config or config.txt (didnt work at first, one of the two did it)

Raspbian and PiPlay both were updated to the latest Version.

Ok, your turn, tell me how Stupid i am. :P

Thanks in advance!
  • ok, some things about the scraper:

- make sure that the images are located in a folder called 'images' inside of the rom folder that you are scraping. so the default for snes would be /home/pi/pimame/roms/snes/images

- the file format can be either png or jpeg (size does not really matter other than huge files may slow things down when browsing your roms)

- if the scraper does not find an image, it will add a default path of /path/to/rom/images/rom_file_name (there will be no extension, piplay will automatically try to load as .jpg and .png)