MAME installation problems in Piplay
  • Hi everybody.

I'm new in Piplay, MAME and Raspberry, so, please, try to be patient with me :-(

I have downloaded Piplay 0.8.0 Beta 8, create the SD and plug it in my raspberry B+. It works ok ( only a message about piplay-sound.state not found, but I have read that it is not relevant).

Then I proceed to install MAME (by selecting the box icon in the menu) and it seems to be ok ( I get some warnings about files to be rewritten). When the process finish i have a MAME icon in the main menĂº, but when I click it, It goes to the command line with me message "Fatal python error (pygame parachute) segmentation fault".

i've created the SD again ( a couple of times) but the problem remains. Any idea?

Thanks in advance.
  • I've follow the procedure and same result. I've expand the file system before doing it. It happens when click in Mame or in Mame4all icons.
  • Make sure your SD card is not too slow. I had issues with a class 4 but all good with class 10
  • I'm having the same issue, Anymore ideas on how to fix?
  • @tgonzalez, @gamdeano - The "Fatal Python error (pygame parachute) segmentation fault" usually means that pygame is not correctly installed. I've never had anyone run into this until today (3 people today). First off, I recommend using the newer .8 beta 9 version, it basically just fixes a ton of bugs that came in .8b8 due to the newer kernel.

if you continue running into this problem or if you want to proceed with .8b8, I would try typing this in command line:
    sudo apt-get install python-pygame
  • I'm getting the same thing and when I check, via apt-get, I am told "python-pygame is already the newest version."

This is a clean install and I get this when it tries to do first run after boot. I downloaded your current image today and did an apt-get update and upgrade (and then even ran your installer.sh again). It happened before all of this and still happens after.