Joystick and buttons problem
  • Hi all, hopefully somebody can help me here. i have finished building my arcade controls and i am running the new beta9 on my piB+. the problem i am having is when you move the joystick its like the input is oscillating and not a constant input ( a bit like pressing a key multiple times). the effect is movement is jittery and not smooth, movement is also slow. Its a similar problem with the buttons, when you press the button once you fire 3 times. i brought the Xin-Mo controller from Ultracabs and have wired everything according to the diagram. and i have set the controller up from the PiPlay menu without any problems. im no Linux expert so any help would be gratefully appreciated by both me and my son!

Thanks
  • It's a debounce issue with the Xin-Mo.Check out Ian57's answer to solve this.
  • Hi Mholgatem, thank you for your reply, i have copied the custom kernel to my piplay SD card. Ian57 stated that the custom kernel needs to be installed. are you able to give me some brief instructions on how to do this from piplay command line? any help appreciated. thanks
  • that's easy. you need to uncompress the archive :

tar xzf custom_kernel.tar.gz
    cd custom_kernel
    sudo ./install.sh

and that's all. a reboot and everything should be fine
  • Thanks Ian, that resolved the problem with the joystick. the other issue i see is the delay or lag on joystick movement, it moves smoothly now thanks to your fix however the only after holding the joystick in a direction for 1 - 1.5 seconds. is there a known fix for this?
  • That's strange... because I don't have this problem with this kernel? The joystick is very reactive, no delay.