32" HDTV - larger resolution
  • Hi - I'm just getting started with building my own arcade and am wondering about the screen size of the ROM's. I've got a few ROM's installed and they successfully start up. What I have not found yet though is how to increase the size of the game. From what I read I may be able to stretch it, but have not found how to do it yet. Can someone point me to a link, or let me know where to change some configurations.

I am using AdvMAME, PiPlay and a Hisense 32" HDTV with an HDMI cable. Pretty sure I'll need to provide more information, so please let me know how I can help you help me.

Thanks

Mike
  • With AdvanceMame Press TAB to enter the menu. Select video and from there you can change with 'mode' the resolution and with 'magnify' you can increace the size.
    It's possible that you don't see 'magnify'. Set 'mode' to auto to use 'magnify'.
  • Oh great. I had not known that. I will check it out. Thanks so much
  • Ok - so was able to find the menu within any one of the AdvMame games by hitting the tab key. I tried both Galaga and Ms. Pacman. Updating the Mode to Auto and then changing Magnify to 2 cleared the image up nicely. But, it still stays small. When I went into Mode again I tried quite a few (there seems to be 40+ configurations). What am I missing? Am I wrong that the game should fill most of the screen, if not all of it? Is there something in a config file? Does it have to do with the HDMI cable?

Thanks in advance

Mike
  • on my hdtv I had to change some settings on the tv itself in order to get it to fill the screen completely. Most notably, in my 'size' options, there was one setting called 1:1, that made everything nearly fill the screen.
  • Any other thoughts? I appreciate the responses so far, but going into a game, hitting the tab key and going to the video menu has not produced a solution. Please let me know if there is any other information I can provide.

To recap: