X-arcade solo stick
  • Hello! I'm a total newbie and I have read about the possibilities to use the x-arcade tankstick instead of the keyboard.

I have a solo but I guess that would work just the same, right? Anyhow, I do not know anything about linux or python. When I read on how to do this I do not understand. Like, to edit AdvanceMENU configuration file…where do I find it? Is there a step-by-step (for dummies)? Please help.

Best,
    /Kaj
  • it should work out of the box I would think.
  • Hi Shea! First let me say THANK YOU for this!!
    Well no I can not browse the rome and select the rome I like to play with the xarcade. I can use it when I have started a rom in mame4all, thats no problem. Works fine there. I would like to skip the use of keyboard for good, if possible? I now entered sudo nano .profile at the command line but then what? Do I need to find the advMenu sand change that? If so, where is it?
  • Hello,
    I also have an X-arcade solo stick. Just picked up the pi and downloaded piplay. I have tried it with sonic the hedgehog. (I own the original). And also in mame. Even after going through the configure controller steps, once in a game, the joystick is not sensed. The buttons work, but the up/down/left/right of the stick are ignored.

I thought it was a quirk with the genesis emulator, until I tried it in mame4all and it still didn't work.

Has anyone gotten the X-arcade solo to work? I'm on the latest beta of Version 8.
  • I might have found a solution. By plugging a ps/2 keyboard into the x-arcades ps/2 connector, you can program it to certain keys. I'm going to try that tomorrow, reprogramming the joystick to the arrow keys on the keyboard, rather than the numpad. I think it will work! Maybe I can even program one of the pinball buttons to be an 'esc' key so I can actually exit from mame4all.

If I can get that working, I'll be building my raspberry pi into the x-arcades case for an all-in-one unit.