Contributing to PiPlay
  • So my journey towards an arcade cabinet has begun and I have the itch. I got multiple emulators working and wired up 1 joystick so far. The current PiPlay is great but I'd like to help make PiPlay a little more flexible. Before I start hacking around I wanted to get others thoughts on a few changes (opinions and verify that easier, non-coded solutions don't already exist or are underway):

1) "Ignore rom" concept. Not sure if I did something wrong but I've found with pifba there are roms that dont work but are needed in the directory to make a clone work. I'd like a way to flag those roms so they dont show up in the menu.

2) Metadata override - A way to override titles/images that wont get lost after rescraping.

3) Roms Only mode - this is a bit more ambitious but I'd like to have a mode where piplay doesn't show emulators just the roms.

What do you think?

The second part of my question is more about contributing. I'm a long time Java programmer so I'll need to do some catch-up on python but so far reading the source hasn't been bad so I'm assuming I'll catch on soon enough. I've only contributed to an open github project ones or twice a few years back so any guidance on the best way to contribute would help me get rolling.

Thanks!
  • @fsa317 - Great! We are always glad to have more contributors. The best way to contribute is to fork the current repo, make your changes, then create a 'pull request' (which basically will let Shea know that there's something to take a gander at).

As for the suggestions, a lot of that will be available as we build our new database. Right now, the scraper builds a text file that contains rompath, file name, rom name, and image path. It's not very high tech. With a real database to pull from, we will be able to do a whole lot more.