ROM Newbie
  • Hi I'm pretty new to the emulator/ROM area but excited to test out PiPLAY. Before I dive head first I wanted to understand something. When looking for ROMs how do I know which I should be looking for? From what I gathered people recommend using MAME4ALL but I cant tell if I can use any MAME rom or do I need specific ones to work with MAME4ALL. Given that some of the posts are about a year old I wanted to better understand what ROMs will and won't work with PiPlay in the latest builds. Thanks!

• mame4all uses 0.37b5 - advancemame uses 0.106. As far as I know, nothing else requires a specific romset.
  • So as I understand your comment, other emulation for lets say NES doesn't require any specific romset - meaning a rom for NES should work without having to be specific for the emulator used by PiPlay?
  • So I'm up and running, all things MAME continue to frustrate me. I got the 0.37b5 romset. However a number of roms dont work. It seems like many of them that dont work are complaining about neo-geo.rom . I then tried to download a direct neo geo rom and that didnt work either, just a black screen. Any tips?
  • it's asking for the neo-geo bios. you just need to download the neogeo bios, and include it in your rom folder. Mame will do the rest.
  • so i have neogeo.zip in my roms/mame4all directory, doesn't seem to make a difference. However the same file in the neogeo directory did help fix a few roms for me. In general if the same rom is available for mame vs. platform specific emulator which is better?

Another weird thing Ive noticed a few final burn alpha CPS2 games where I need to install both the Euro and US version of the rom, the US then works and the Euro gives an error but if I remove the Euro it doesn't work. Does this make any sense?
  • I am having the same problem where do I place the neogeo bios and in what format is it in zip or do i unzip? It is looking for neo-geo.rom file among others.