Noob Guide for building a cabinet (Help)
  • I think we should dedicate this thread as a starting point for any noob (zero to low experience) to building an Arcade Cabinet.

Other than the Raspberry Pi and the PiPlay software what other parts are needed?

Monitor:
    Wide screen or square?
    VGA, DVI, or HDMI?
    Flat screen or old tube style?
    Screen size recommendations.

Controllers:
    Kit from specific supplier
    What to look for and avoid
    Off the shelf game pads and controllers
    Connector types (USB or direct wire to the pi)

Power Supply:
    How much power is needed/recommended
    Single power button for Pi/Monitor/Speakers/Lights

Speakers:
    What to look for and what to avoid

Raspberry Pi Accessories:
    Expansion parts, Wireless adapters, etc..

Cabinet Construction:
    Wood type
    Hardware recommendations
    Blueprints
    Sourcing graphics

Extra:
    Boot animations
    Themes
    Screensavers
    Boot to game

As a newbie myself I think this will benefit many like myself in creating our very own arcade cabinet we can be proud of.
    If this forum allows, I will be adding the links and information you guys contribute to this post so that all the information is consolidated.

Thanks in advance!
  • All that info in one place would be awesome
    Id also love to know overclocking recommendations and whether or not heat sinks/fans are required for stable overclocking to play say psx games
  • @Pongo - I have my system overclocked to 'Turbo' (use the raspi-config overclock settings to keep your warranty intact). I don't use heatsinks, they are rather unnecessary in my opinion. I used them for a while when I ran a content heavy website, but honestly, it's not a hugely significant difference, especially when running pimame. If you plan on running psx games, I really recommend overclocking to 'turbo', anything else seems a little bit too slow.