How to overclock
  • I'm asking how to overclock because I have no experience with the raspberry pi and Linux.
  • on raspberry pi, is so crazy easy. go to console. then type
    sudo raspi-config

choose option 7 - overclock. Set it to whatever you want.

All of the settings are pre-approved settings that should run stable without melting anything. The main thing that people report is faster memory card corruption with the higher speeds (I haven't had any trouble and I have been running mine on full overclock for 6+ months)
  • @mholgatem, are you using any heat sinks? I've been on the fence about it as I prepare to build out the box for the Pi.
  • Check this thread as it might help with a decision:

http://pimame.org/forum/discussion/1074/overclocking#Item_4
  • I never noticed any significant temp difference with or without my heatsinks, so I left them off. The overclocking specs that are pre-set in raspi-config are designed to be safe with the rasperry pi as-is. So I figured why bother?
  • I agree I think the Pi is made to run "as-is" without issues with overclocking especially if they are willing to allow it without voiding the warranty. If it dies a few months out of warranty (1 year?) then they hit the nail on the head of good marketing.

I was running overclocked with a heatsink/fan combo at around 38-39C. If I throw it inside a case without heatsinks at the same overclock I leveled off around 64-65C. Big difference in temps but well within the parameters. With that though if I can make it run 18 or 20C cooler count me in.

I think a CPU's biggest threat is heat and over time you start to see some degradation by which I mean things like failing stress tests or your computer runs slower, restarts, randomly turns off, etc. I think overclocking expedites the life of the CPU. Even if it does last a good long time I think it does shorten the life to some extent.