[Solved] Noobie with loads of questions
  • Hi everyone,

I am new to this whole Pi-Linux thing and I have some questions... (most of you might find them silly)

Just a little background: I got my Raspberry recently and my plan was to use it as a multi emulator. I looked around the internet and found PiMame (or PiPlay should I say). I downloaded the 8beta3 version and burned it on my SD card. I've tryed it on my TV and everything seems to be running fine... Which now leads me to my questions:

1. Is there a way to use the roms I already have on my PC and simply "copy paste" them somewhere on my SD card? I have quite a lot of them (snes, nes, arcade, etc) plus: I don't have my raspberry connected to the internet

2. I'd like to access the Raspi-config menu to set up my raspberry. I've read how to do that when using raspbian but : how can I do that here, since PiPlay is autolaunching directly?

2b. Is it possible to "get out" from the PiPlay menu (I think it's called: the front-end) ? If so, how do I "get back in" ?

2c. Once my USB wifi adapter arrives I'll need to configure it. How will I be able to do that?

Thanks in advance for the help

Edit: Congrats on your 400% funding on KickaStarter
  • 1. Copy your roms to a usb, plug usb in before booting. When you get the PiPlay menu, hit ESC. type:
    sudo startx
    Go to folders (bottom left) navigate to /home/pi ... here you should see a folder for roms. This is where you place them.

2. Next open terminal and type:
    sudo raspi-config

2b. to get back in type:
    exit

2c. You have to go to Wifi config in raspian.

Hope that helps ;-)
  • Hi,

Thank you for the quick answer! I will try this as soon as I get back home :-)

quote : "When you get the PiPlay menu, hit ESC"
    Is it really that simple to exit PiPlay... I don't even remember if I tried it
  • @yolt1
    It is :D
    I also tend to miss the obvious. Lol!