pIMAME with adafruit controls buttons, joystick?
  • im a complete noob with raspberry pi and i though this would be asimple and fun project to do :)

but im having trouble getting the controls to work as to me the instructions are not really clear cut

http://learn.adafruit.com/retro-gaming-with-raspberry-pi/buttons

^i am using that i have the 2 bottons and joystick connected correctly to the GPIO pins and i've downloaded the thing from github and have it on my pi, but i dont understand what to do to make it work with Pimame (mame4all)
  • This is what I have done, I have filled up my GPIO with buttons!

You have to assign a keyboard command to each button. All the instructions you have to do are in that Adfruit guide.

there are a few files you have to edit.

Read through the guide and check you have followed all the steps.

good luck.
  • yes but the instructions are terrible i dont understand what to do, i know what to edit but im using the same setup as adafruit (for now) but i dont understand what to do AFTER you have the ZIP file on your Pi
  • Zip file? Is this the adafruit file? I unzipped it on my PC (not sure how to do this on RPi via command prompt) and copied the unzipped directory to my RPI, it goes in the Home directory from memory.
  • Just reading the instructions - yeah unzip to give you a Adafruit-Retrogame folder
  • i have it unziped on my pi using 'Git clone url' its in the directory /Adafruit-Retrogame

i got it to work but when i addred to Rc.local nothing worked and when i went bakc to change rc.local it was completely blank
  • You need to make sure that you are editing the rc.local with 'sudo nano /etc/rc.local', without the 'sudo' it won't save changes. Also, double check that you typed the path in correctly (no caps and whatnot). If the path is typed in incorrectly, it creates a new blank file.

So here are the steps that I used for creating my system:
    -unzip files, pull them over to raspberry pi (/home/pi/Adafruit-Retrogame)