USB audio card issue with PiPlay.
  • Hey guys! Newbie here. I'm planning to build a mini tabletop Pi cabinet. Just have a little issue here. So I installed a USB sound card for the Pi. Every time I load a game through PiPlay, it crashes and brings me back to terminal. It says "Segmentation faultitialize...set params) Rate doesn't match (requested 44100Hz, get 0Hz)" But when I remove the USB sound card, it works. What can I be doing wrong?
  • sorry man, I have no experience with the extra sound cards, hopefully someone else does.
  • Roxima, did you find the solution to that usb sound card problem?
    I have the same.
    thx
  • I had the same error "Segmentation fault" but not the audio portion of the error when running the game West Story (weststry.zip) under MAME4ALL. I am running Beta 3 of PiPlay with no extra hardware so I am not sure what that error is. It's the only game I am seeing that particular error.
  • @Roxima, Saga and Chad:
    Have someone resolved the problem, I plan to build a mame arcade machine.
    I would use the Raspberry Pi with a usb sound card.

regards
    sappi
  • @sappi:

I had the same problem when I first plugged my USB sound card in. Found the solution here:
    USB Sound on the Rasp. Pi
    When done, don't forget to fire up alsamixer, switch to your USB sound card with F6, and make sure the volume/mute is set appropriately.
  • @pilesofspam: Your solution dosn't work with my B+ Model.
    Now i receive the following error:
    Segmentation fault0:(snd_pcm_set_params) Channels count(1) not available for PLAYBACK: Invalid arguments
  • Sorry I missed this- Sappi- which USB sound card are you using? When do you see that error? I'm using a B+ with a PCM2704 based sound card.
  • Ideal! Turns out there's a set of instructions written specifically for that device:

adafruit RASBPI USB audio
  • I did the configuration step by step like described in the text.