ERROR: required files are missing, the game cannot be run.
  • PiPlay noob here. I installed the latest version of PiPlay on an SD card (0.8.0 Beta 3), which boots just fine. Then I used the FTP uploader to put a variety of different roms into the MAME4ALL folder, the most recent set was called "mame4all_1.0_samples" (I unzipped this and uploaded each of the individual zip files via FTP), but I've tried others as well.

No matter what I launch, I see the game attempt to boot and I get some form of the error in the title of this post. Example here: http://i.imgur.com/155g9aa.jpg

Can anyone give me some pointers on how to resolve? Thanks!
  • FYI - Same error when using AdvMAME
  • You need to find specific romsets for the emulators. different romsets are basically different versions of the game. You may get lucky with some games, but the file contents change from version to version, that's why you are getting the error.

mame4all uses 0.37b5
    advancemame uses 0.106

• If you already are running the correct version of the ROMs, you need to create a symbolic link.

rm -r ~/pimame/emulators/mame4all-pi/roms
    ln -s ~/pimame/roms/mame4all ~/pimame/emulators/mame4all-pi/roms
  • @dubstylee - I tried that (as well as copying the roms to both folders directly), no go.

@mholgatem - I've heard a lot about that, but not exactly how to know what version a particluar file is. I've seen references to a "-verifyversion" command line arg to mame, but running mame -h doesn't show that as an available option.

Here's an (obviously naive) thought. Couldn't the distro include non-copyrighted roms known to work with each emulator? I've seen references to public domain roms, but it would be great to know some PiPlay approved ones to verify an install.