X-Box Controller
  • Perhaps this has been discussed in the past but I can't find any quick answers. I am setting up my old pi for a friend of mine and he wants to use his USB X-Box controller, I have never tried this setup before. I can set up NES using the X and Y buttons as the A button on the controller seems to act as pressing both A&B even after configuring it. After configuring SNES and trying to play a game, it seems the A button on the controller escapes from the game. In both cases the X-box A button seems to be the issue. Has anyone else run into this or have a possible solution? Most games will be pretty unplayable with this problem.
  • you just need to edit /home/pi/pimame/config/xboxdrv_mapping.cfg.

I set mine up so that if you press left bumper, left trigger, right bumper, right trigger (in that order), it will type 'exit' which is handy if you want to get from the command line back into piplay easily

This is what mine looks like:
    [xboxdrv]
    silent=true
    deadzone=6000
    dpad-as-button=true
    trigger-as-button=true

[ui-axismap]
    x2=REL_X:10
    y2=REL_Y:-10
    x1=KEY_A:KEY_D
    y1=KEY_W:KEY_S

[ui-buttonmap]
    a=KEY_SPACE
    b=KEY_J
    x=KEY_K
    y=KEY_L

[ui-buttonmap]
    lb=KEY_E
    rb=KEY_I

[ui-buttonmap]
    lt=KEY_X
    rt=KEY_T

[ui-buttonmap]
    dl=KEY_LEFT
    dr=KEY_RIGHT
    du=KEY_UP
    dd=KEY_DOWN

[ui-buttonmap]
    back=KEY_ESC
    start=KEY_ENTER
    guide=KEY_TAB

# EOF #

• Thanks @mholgatem however the issue persists. I copied your map exactly but have the same issue. The A button on the xbox controller exits from the SNES emulator whenever it is pressed regardless of what it is assigned to in the controller setup. In the NES emulator it acts as hitting the A+B buttons. I have no Idea what the issue is. I tried a new cordless Logitech pad with the exact same problem. If you have any clue how to fix this that would be of great help.