PCSX Rearmed Black Screen with cursor after a few minutes
  • Hi,

I am pretty new to this stuff, and am having a few problems. I will try to only have one issue per thread, to keep things nice and organised!

I am trying to play a playstation game, it boots up fine, but a few minutes into the game (demo mode) the screen goes black, with a cursor at the top of the screen. At this point, the Raspberry Pi seems completely unresponsive, and my only option is to pull the plug on it.

I also experience the screen flickering during the loading screens (2d image), anything rendered in-game seems to be ok.

So far, I have carried out the following steps:

Installed PiMAME (current available download)

Installed xboxdrv (don't seem to be able to get the input from my controller into PiMame, but that is a seperate issue)

Set up xboxdrv to load on boot (seems to work fine)

FTP'd the rom into the home/pi/roms folder

I have not adjusted any memory options - could this help?

The game is Spyro: Year of the Dragon. I don't currently have a BIOS installed for the Playstation emulator, not sure if that could cause this behaviour.

Any ideas greatfully received.

Thanks

Gizmo
  • Give it a go with a bios, can make a lot of difference.
  • I have the same problem although nothing loads up at all, not even the menu screen it does straight to the arrow
  • Same here.

When I'm paying it happens from time to time. And also when I try to load a ROM from an external usb drive folder (that doesn't show up, btw) and click it, boom!
  • *When I'm playing, I meant.

It happens also when I'm playing FFVII against and specific Boss :S
  • That's a really strange error. Can you list the games you've had this happen with?

I've play Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2 for a while and didn't get any black out. Was this on HDMI or RCA?
  • I'll try right now again with Final Fantasy VII on HDMI. I'll let you know
  • I just got a black out again trying to acces /media/Raspi
    Rebooting...