Hit roadblock on trying to get MAME ROM to work.
  • Hi! I've been working on a project and have hit a roadblock on it. Some back story - my father-in-law has cancer, they retired to Las Vegas and love to go out, but because of his treatment they can't anymore. They've always wanted a video p0ker machine (I have to spell it that way because apparently this forum software was written by Mennonites), so I decided to try to build them one. I downloaded a PC MAME emulator from mamedev.org, some ROMs of the aforementioned type, and they worked fine. I got excited and ordered the cabinet, the buttons and lights, a touch monitor, the decorations for it, volume control, etc. - in my ignorance and naivete I just sort of assumed that if a ROM worked on one MAME system, it'd work on them all. (As you've probably guessed, this is my first time in the MAME world.)

Well, all the ROMs don't work. I've tried using them in AdvMAME and MAME4ALL - and while they show up by name, I get "Game '[gamename]' not supported". I've tried Googling this problem and looking on the forums, but it seems I might be out of luck on the path I was going down.

Is there anything I can do? Is it something to do with the version of the ROMs I'm trying to use? Do you have any suggestions?

If it turns out that PiPlay just won't work - I'd definitely appreciate some advice or guidance on how to best proceed because I've spent a lot of money on hardware so far, but I'm very ignorant on what to do. The options I've come up with are:

1) Run the MAME program that I know works via some sort of PC emulator like WINE
    2) Run something like Masque in a PC emulator like WINE
    3) Buy a different PC that can run DOS/Windows and use one of the above
    4) Write my own custom software and hope that it's good.

Obviously #3 and #4 are my least favorite options, but I'd very much appreciate any guidance as I'm a moron.

Thank you in advance!